Closet gay politician caught shocker!

This is not a post about any noted British politicians, surprisingly, but rather about Republican Senator, Roy Ashburn, caught drunk driving after leaving a gay club.  It’s not the offence that I’m highlighting,  it’s Roy’s candid statement:

“I am deeply sorry for my actions and offer no excuses for my poor judgement.

‘I accept complete responsibility for my conduct and am prepared to accept the consequences of what I did.

‘I am also truly sorry for the impact this incident will have on those who support and trust me – my family, my constituents, my friends, and my colleagues in the Senate.”

When did you last hear that sort of response over here?  All credit to Roy Ashburn.

..a big boy did it and ran away...

Take Mandy’s first “resignation” as a comparison:

“…For the next 24 hours, beginning with Monday’s Newsnight, on which he declared, ‘There is no conflict of interest so the question of resignation does not arise’, Mandelson toured the TV and radio studios, determined to tough it out. As he told one friend: ‘I’ve learnt from my personal life that you have to stand up to these fuckers. If they scent blood, they will come for the kill…..

Mandelson still believed himself to be the victim of a ‘stitch-up’ by the Brownites. The press were ‘completely hysterical’ and ‘out of control’. He had made a mistake, he was prepared to admit that now. Yet he clung to the belief that he could and must remain in the Cabinet….”

And Mandy had, as so often, been up to no good in his official role, not his private life.

Leave a Reply

